Al Akhawayn University in Ifrane - Invitation for Public Comments

Invitation for Public Comments


Al Akhawayn University in Ifrane, AUI, will undergo a comprehensive evaluation visit in March 2022, by a team representing NECHE, the New England Commission of Higher Education, (formerly the CIHE, Commission on Institutions of Higher Education of NEASC, the New England Association of Schools and Colleges, NEASC).  

The New England Commission of Higher Education is one of seven accrediting commissions in the United States that provide institutional accreditation on a regional basis. Accreditation is voluntary and applies to the institution as a whole. The Commission, which is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, accredits approximately 220 institutions in the six-state New England region as well as several American-style institutions overseas.  

AUI has been accredited by the Commission since 2017 and was last reviewed in 2019. Its accreditation by the Commission encompasses the entire institution.  

For the past year and a half, AUI has been engaged in a process of self-study, addressing the Commission’s Standards for Accreditation. An evaluation team will visit the institution from 19 to 22 March 2022 to gather evidence that the self-study is thorough and accurate. The team will recommend to the Commission a continuing status for the institution. Following a review process, the Commission itself will take the final action.  

The public is invited to submit comments regarding the institution to:  

Public Comment on AUI  

New England Commission of Higher Education   

3 Burlington Woods Drive, Suite 100  

Burlington, MA 01803-4514  

 E-mail:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.   

Public Comments must address substantive matters related to the quality of the institution. The Commission cannot settle disputes between individuals and institutions, whether those involve faculty, students, administrators, or members of other groups. Comments will not be treated as confidential and must include the name, address, and telephone number of the person providing the comments.  

Public Comments must be received by 22 March 2022. The Commission cannot guarantee that comments received after that date will be considered.